Buying a home is a big decision, and it’s crucial to ensure that your investment is a sound one. One way to achieve this peace of mind is by hiring a qualified home inspector. In New York State, home inspectors follow specific Standards of Practice to conduct comprehensive inspections. In this blog post, we’ll dive into these standards to help you understand what to expect during a New York State home inspection.

What Are the New York State Standards of Practice for Home Inspectors?

New York State has established clear guidelines for home inspectors to follow when assessing a property. These standards are designed to ensure that inspectors thoroughly examine all accessible areas of the home and provide a detailed report to the client.

1. Structure

The inspector will assess the structural components of the home, including the foundation, framing, walls, roof, and basement. They will look for signs of structural issues such as cracks, settling, or water damage.

2. Exterior

Inspectors examine the exterior of the home, which includes the siding, windows, doors, and trim. They’ll also evaluate the condition of the driveways, walkways, and grading to identify any potential safety hazards.

3. Roofing

The roofing inspection covers the materials, condition, and age of the roof. Inspectors will check for leaks, missing shingles, and signs of damage. They may also assess the condition of roof flashings, gutters, and downspouts.

4. Plumbing

The plumbing inspection includes an examination of the water supply and distribution systems, drainage systems, and fixtures. Inspectors will look for leaks, pressure issues, and potential problems in the plumbing infrastructure.

5. Electrical

Inspectors assess the electrical system to ensure it meets safety standards. This includes checking the service entrance, distribution panels, wiring, and outlets for issues like outdated components or unsafe wiring practices.

6. Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC)

Inspectors evaluate the HVAC systems, including heating and cooling equipment. They’ll check for proper operation, safety concerns, and maintenance needs. This is particularly important in New York’s diverse climate.

7. Insulation and Ventilation

Adequate insulation and ventilation are essential for energy efficiency and preventing moisture-related problems. Inspectors will assess the insulation levels, attic ventilation, and venting of exhaust systems.

8. Interior

The interior inspection covers the condition of walls, ceilings, floors, stairways, and railings. Inspectors will identify any defects or safety hazards within the living spaces.

9. Fireplaces and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances

Inspectors evaluate the condition of fireplaces and solid fuel-burning appliances, including chimneys and vents. They’ll look for safety issues and ensure compliance with building codes.

10. Appliances

While not required, the inspection may include a basic examination of kitchen and laundry appliances such as ovens, dishwashers, and washing machines, but it doesn’t replace a full appliance inspection.

11. Site

Inspectors will assess the property’s site, including drainage, retaining walls, and vegetation. They’ll also check for potential issues like underground fuel storage tanks.

12. Environmental Hazards

While not required, inspectors may offer additional services to test for environmental hazards such as radon, lead, or asbestos if requested by the client.


Understanding the New York State Standards of Practice for home inspectors is essential for both buyers and sellers. It ensures that you receive a comprehensive evaluation of a property’s condition and helps you make informed decisions during the real estate transaction.